Neolithic flint extraction pits at Hallencourt (Somme).
 
Partially destroyed Neolithic enclosure at Missy-sur-Aisne (Aisne)
The first farmers
The construction of camps and the beginning of flint mining
page 1page 2page 3page 4
Neolithic flint extraction pits at Hallencourt (Somme).

Partially destroyed Neolithic enclosure at Missy-sur-Aisne (Aisne)
Although the first farmers seemed to have lived in an egalitarian society, this was no longer the case by around 4,500 BCE, when social differentiation began to emerge little by little in the Cerny and Post-Rössen cultures, and later the Michelsberg and Southern Chasséen cultures.

Enclosures and camps with palisades and interrupted ditches became increasingly common. We can distinguish between valley enclosures surrounding villages, like at Berry-au-Bac (Aisne), and raised camps, such as at l'Étoile (Somme). These moated enclosures required enormous amounts of labor to construct. Their function is still not clearly understood. Nevertheless, several hypotheses have been advanced: a place where the community would be safe from animals, a fortified area offering protection from other human groups, a main habitat common to several villages, a market or place of assembly —
and even a sanctuary for special occasions. Clearing the land would have required a large number of flint tools.
Major flint extraction sites and workshops have been discovered. Néolithic humans dug pits in the chalk to reach layers of good quality flint, and set up workshops in the vicinity. The entrance to these pits, which appear here as white dots ringed with a large, dark patch, are not very visible from the air (Hallencourt, Somme).


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4

Puits néolithiques d'extraction du silex à Hallencourt (Somme).
 
Enceinte néolithique
en partie détruite
de Missy-sur-Aisne
(Aisne)
Les premiers agriculteurs
La construction des camps et l'ouverture de minières de silex
page 1page 2page 3page 4
Puits néolithiques d'extraction du silex à Hallencourt (Somme).

Enceinte néolithique en partie détruite de Missy-sur-Aisne(Aisne)
Si les premiers paysans semblent vivre dans une société probablement égalitaire, il n'en est plus de même vers - 4500 av. J.-C., où l'on voit peu à peu émerger une différenciation sociale avec les cultures de Cerny et du Post-Rössen, puis de Michelsberg et du Chasséen septentrional.
Les enceintes ou camps à palissades et à fossés interrompus deviennent de plus en plus nombreux. On distingue des enceintes de vallée entourant les villages, comme à Berry-au-Bac (Aisne) et des camps de hauteur, comme à L'Étoile (Somme). Ces enceintes fossoyées demandaient une main d'œuvre immense. Leurs fonctions ne sont pas toujours bien connues. Cependant, plusieurs hypothèses sont envisagées : protection pour s'isoler des animaux, lieu fortifié pour se protéger d'autres groupes humains, habitat principal commun à plusieurs villages, marché ou lieu de rassemblement, et pourquoi pas lieu de sanctuaire à certaines occasions ?
La conquête des terres va entraîner une
énorme consommation d'outils en silex
pour le défrichement.
D'importants centres d'extraction et des ateliers ont été mis au jour. Les hommes du Néolithique ont creusé des puits dans la craie pour atteindre les bancs de silex de bonne qualité et ont établi des ateliers de taille à proximité. Les entrées de ces puits, qui apparaissent ici sous la forme de points blancs cernés par une large tâche sombre, sont peu visibles d'avion (Hallencourt, Somme).


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4