Hypothetical reconstruction of the large Gallic house at Verberie (Oise) and its surroundings on the banks of the Oise. It has a sub-rectangular layout, with slightly rounded corners.
It measured 22 meters long by 12.5 meters wide.
Gallic settlements
Close-up: The Gallic farm at Verberie (Oise)
A B C D E F 
Hypothèse de reconstitution A site occupied in the past
In the twelfth century BCE, the last geat hunters of the Prehistoric era — and more precisely the Magdalenian civilization, — set up their encampments on the banks of the Oise River on several occasions. They came to hunt reindeer during their fall migration. Their principal activities included working bone, butchering, and preparing reindeer hides (excavations of F. Audouze).
Other archaeological vestiges dating to the Néolithic and the Metal Ages (Chalcolithic and Late Bronze Age) were found in the same field. This concentration of remains is explained by the presence of a ford that was in use up until the nineteenth century.

An exceptional Gallic establishment
The Gallic site was discovered during a flyover organized during a dry spell in June 1976. Although the ripening of the wheat was well underway everywhere in the field, the stalks remained green over the location of postholes and pits, as well as in the lower part of the land near the river.


Aerial view of the Gallic house at Verberie (Oise).   View of the excavation of the same site. In one corner, we can see an internal divider that separated the living quarters, the rest being probably used as a hay barn and stable.
Aerial view of the Gallic house at Verberie (Oise).   View of the excavation of the same site. In one corner, we can see an internal divider that separated the living quarters, the rest being probably used as a hay barn and stable.

The excavation, carried out in August of the same year, brought to light a large rectangular building with slightly rounded corners, measuring 22 meters long by 12.5 meters wide (Blanchet et alii 1983).
The structure consisted of 39 external holes for the posts that supported the external walls of wood and cob. The roof structure was held in place with six internal beams (every third post) that formed an internal frame. The posts were firmly fixed in the earth, forming a structure that was particularly well adapted to cover a large central space measuring 140 sq. meters — as large as it was long — out of a total surface area of 225 sq. meters.

The five adjacent pits that border or intersect with the postholes yielded mainly pottery that was typical for the early second century BCE. This building must have had multiple functions: habitation, barn, stable, workshop, or perhaps a community area.

Hypothèse de reconstitution de la grande maison gauloise de Verberie (Oise) et de son environnement sur les bords de l'Oise. Elle a un plan sub-rectangulaire, avec des côtés légèrement arrondis.
Elle mesure 22 m de long sur 12,50 m de large.
L'habitat gaulois
Monographie : La ferme gauloise de Verberie (Oise)
A B C D E F 
Hypothèse de reconstitution Un site anciennement occupé
Les derniers grands chasseurs de la fin de la Préhistoire, et plus précisément de la civilisation magdalénienne, au douzième millénaire avant notre ère, ont établi à plusieurs reprises leurs campements sur les bords de l'Oise, pour y chasser le renne lors de sa migration d'automne. Leur principale activité était le travail de l'os, la boucherie et la préparation des peaux de renne (fouilles de F. Audouze).
D'autres vestiges archéologiques datés du Néolithique et des âges des Métaux (Chalcolithique et âge du Bronze final) ont été trouvés dans le même champ. Cette concentration de vestiges s'explique par la présence d'un passage à gué qui a été utilisé jusqu'au XIXe siècle.

Un établissement gaulois exceptionnel
Le site gaulois a été découvert lors d'un survol aérien réalisé lors de la période de sécheresse de juin 1976. Alors que le mûrissement du blé était déjà bien avancé dans l'ensemble du champ, les céréales sont restées vertes à l'emplacement des trous de poteaux et des fosses, ainsi que dans la partie basse du terrain près de la rivière.


Vue aérienne   Vue de la fouille du même site.
Vue aérienne de la maison gauloise de Verberie (Oise).   Vue de la fouille du même site. Dans un angle,
on remarque une cloison interne qui délimite la partie d'habitation, le reste ayant dû servir de grange
à fourrage et d'étable.

La fouille, réalisée au mois d'août de la même année, a permis de mettre au jour un grand bâtiment rectangulaire aux extrémités légèrement arrondies de 22 m de long sur 12,50 m de large (Blanchet et alii 1983).
L'édifice était constitué de 39 trous de poteaux périphériques qui maintenaient le mur extérieur en bois et en torchis. La charpente était soutenue par six poteaux internes (tierces), formant un châssis interne. Les poteaux sont fortement ancrés dans le sol, formant une structure spécialement bien adaptée pour couvrir un grand espace central de 140 m2 aussi large que long, alors que la surface totale est de 225 m2.
Les 5 fosses adjacentes qui bordent ou recoupent les trous de poteaux ont livré principalement de la céramique typique du début du IIème siècle av. J.-C. Ce bâtiment devait avoir de multiples fonctions : habitation, grange, étable, atelier ou peut-être salle communautaire.