Antique watercolor of the oppidum at l'Etoile (Somme), which has impressed visitors for centuries. Macqueron Collection, Bibliothèque d'Abbeville.
 
Large earth levee of the "Camp of Caesar" at Liercourt-Erondelle (Somme).
 

 

 

Liercourt-Erondelle (Somme). Overall view of this protected spur with its naturally steep walls. The arrows indicate the large levee of earth.

Gallic settlements : oppida
The "murus gallicus"
A B C D E F
page 1page 2page 3page 4
Antique watercolor of the oppidum at l'Etoile (Somme), which has impressed visitors for centuries. Macqueron Collection, Bibliothèque d'Abbeville.

Large earth levee of the -Camp of Caesar- at Liercourt-Erondelle (Somme).

Liercourt-Erondelle (Somme). Overall view of this protected spur with its naturally steep walls. The arrows indicate the large levee of earth.
It is astonishing that these earth levees that protected the oppida have withstood the test of time so well. This is probably due to how they were built, since these are not just heaps of dirt. Caesar gave a very good description of how this type of "murus gallicus" was built, which was confirmed by archaeological excavation. Earth and loose stones were packed into frames built from large vertical and (most importantly) horizontal beams. These beams were held together by huge nails or sheets of metal. These constructions were remarkably cohesive, and held up well against Roman war machinery — especially since they were sometimes reinforced by external facing, like at La Chaussée-Tirancourt (Somme). In the seventeenth and early eighteenth century, archaeologists were very much interested in these fortified ensembles. These oppida were striking because of their size, which artists did not hesitate to exaggerate in drawings and paintings!

Without a doubt, many of these oppida predate the conquest of Gaul. At times, they were built over Bronze Age entrenchments, which is the case, for example, at Vieux-Moulin (Oise). Recent excavations have confirmed pre-conquest construction, like at La Cheppe (Marne). But it is taken for granted that the Romans re-occupied certain oppida. Recent research appears to indicate that they sometimes reinforced them and even perhaps, in rare cases, built them. Thus, at La Chaussée-Tirancourt (Somme), it seems that the Romans adopted the sophisticated and efficient murus gallicus construction techniques.

There are still questions concerning the chronology of the oppida. Some played a role during the Gallic Wars and even later. For La Chaussée-Tirancourt (Somme), the re-occupation of the oppidum continued until about 30–20 BCE. Could it be that, in reality, that this was entirely the work of the Romans, who built a murus gallicus themselves? (Fichtl, 1994). Clearly, Caesar had been impressed by the ingenuity and efficiency of this type of fortification.


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4

Aquarelle ancienne de l'oppidum de l'Étoile (Somme), qui impressionne les hommes depuis des siècles... Collection Macqueron, Bibliothèque d'Abbeville.
 
Grande levée de terre du "Camp de César" à Liercourt-Erondelle (Somme).
 

 

 

Liercourt-Erondelle (Somme). Vue d'ensemble de cet éperon barré, avec ses abrupts naturels. Les flèches indiquent
la grande levée de terre.

L'habitat gaulois : Les oppida
Le "murus gallicus"
A B C D E F
page 1page 2page 3page 4
Oppidum de L'Etoile (Somme)

Grande levée de terre du Camp de César.

L'oppidum de Liercourt-Erondelle (Somme)
Il est étonnant que ces levées de terre qui protègent les oppida aient résisté à l'usure du temps. Leur mode de construction y est probablement pour quelque chose. Ce ne sont pas seulement des amas de terre. César a bien décrit comment était édifié ce type de "murus gallicus" dont les fouilles ont confirmé la présence. La terre et les pierrailles étaient tassées dans des coffrages constitués de grosses poutres verticales et surtout horizontales. Ces poutres étaient maintenues entre elles par d'énormes clous ou par des fiches métalliques. La cohésion de l'ensemble est remarquable. Ces remparts résistent bien aux machines de guerre romaines, d'autant qu'un parement extérieur les renforçait parfois, comme à La Chaussée-Tirancourt (Somme). Au XVIIe s. et au début du XVIIIe s., les archéologues s'intéressaient beaucoup à ces ensembles fortifiés. Ces oppida frappaient l'imagination par leur ampleur, ampleur que les artistes n'hésitaient pas à accentuer dans leurs représentations!
Beaucoup de ces oppida sont incontestablement antérieurs à la conquête de la Gaule. Il arrive d'ailleurs qu'ils se superposent à des retranchements de l'Âge du Bronze, comme par exemple à Vieux-Moulin (Oise). Les fouilles récentes confirment une édification antérieure à la conquête, comme à La Cheppe (Marne). Mais il est acquis que les Romains ont réoccupé par la suite certains oppida. Les recherches récentes semblent montrer qu'ils les ont parfois renforcés et, peut-être même dans de rares cas, édifiés. Ainsi, à La Chaussée-Tirancourt (Somme), il semble que les Romains aient adopté les techniques sophistiquées et efficaces du murus gallicus.
La chronologie des oppida pose encore des problèmes. Certains ont joué un rôle lors de la Guerre des Gaules et même après. Pour La Chaussée-Tirancourt (Somme), la réoccupation de l'oppidum se prolonge jusque vers les années 20 avant J.-C. On commence à se demander s'il n'est pas, en réalité, entièrement l'œuvre des Romains qui auraient fait construire un murus gallicus? (Fichtl, 1994). Manifestement, César avait été impressionné par l'ingéniosité et l'efficacité de ce type de fortification.


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4