Picardy farm of today with its system of nested enclosures much like during the Gallic era. Moyenneville (Somme).
 
Traditional farm that was abandoned in the mid-twentieth century. The network of tree-lined enclosures is still quite visible, and the raking light emphasizes the traces of ancient constructions in the center. Near Rue (Somme).
Gallic settlements : The aedificia (aristocratic Gallic farms)
The actual isolated, large-scale farms
A B C D E F
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6page 7
Picardy farm of today with its system of nested enclosures much like during the Gallic era. Moyenneville (Somme).



Traditional farm that was abandoned in the mid-twentieth century. The network of tree-lined enclosures is still quite visible, and the raking light emphasizes the traces of ancient constructions in the center. Near Rue (Somme).
Today, isolated, large-scale farms are relatively rare in the north of France. The largest are those that were built in the nineteenth century or those located in the zones that were devastated between 1914 and 1918 by World War I. Many of these have a straight-line, mostly rectangular layout, and are delimited by walls and curtains of trees in the most stereotypical fashion.

They are reminiscent of the geometric arrangement of Gallo-Roman villas and they sometimes have the same architectural coherence.

The older isolated farms are especially of interest, such as those at Moyenneville or Rue, because one wonders if there are not some similarities with "Gallic" farms. Both aerial views and land registries show them surrounded by large hedges and several lines of trees, sometimes planted on tight levees of earth, lined with small ditches. The whole forms a network of nested enclosures, generally curved in shape.
Most often, we can distinguish two types of nested enclosures.
An internal enclosure (I) is part of a much larger and more irregular enclosure (II). In northern France, enclosure (I) is built around the house, farm buildings, barns, stables, pigsty, henhouse, and the garden — this is the courtil, as it is still called today by farmers in Picardy. The enclosure (II) is much larger and is called the plant (planted pasture).

Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6page 7

Ferme picarde actuelle avec ses systèmes d'enclos emboîtés comme à l'époque gauloise. Moyenneville (Somme).
 
Ferme traditionnelle abandonnée au milieu du XXe siècle. Le lacis d'enclos arboré est toujours bien visible et l'éclairage frisant fait ressortir au centre les traces des anciennes constructions. Environs de Rue (Somme).
L'habitat gaulois : Les aedificia (fermes gauloises aristocratiques)
Les fermes isolées actuelles
A B C D E F
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6page 7
Moyenneville (Somme)



Environs de Rue (Somme)
Relativement rares sont les grandes exploitations rurales isolées dans la France du Nord d'aujourd'hui. Les plus importantes sont celles qui ont été construites au XIXe siècle ou celles qui se situent aujourd'hui dans les zones dévastées après la Grande Guerre 1914-18. Nombre d'entre elles ont des plans de masse rectilignes à dominante rectangulaire et sont délimitées par des murs et des rideaux d'arbres établis selon des modèles stéréotypés.
Elles ne sont pas sans rappeler la disposition géométrique des villas gallo-romaines et elles en retrouvent parfois la même cohérence architecturale.
Particulièrement intéressantes sont les fermes isolées les plus anciennes, comme ici à Moyenneville ou à Rue, car on peut se demander si elles ne présentent pas quelques similitudes avec les fermes "gauloises". Les vues aériennes ainsi que les plans cadastraux les montrent entourées de grandes haies et surtout de plusieurs lignes d'arbres, parfois plantés sur d'étroites levées de terre, doublées de petits fossés. Le tout forme des lacis d'enclos emboîtés, généralement à dominantes courbes.
Le plus souvent, on distingue deux enclos emboîtés. L'enclos interne (I) est inclus dans un enclos plus vaste et plus irrégulier (II). Dans la France du Nord, l'enclos (I) enserre l'habitation, les bâtiments d'exploitation, les granges, les étables, la porcherie, le poulailler ainsi que le jardin : c'est le "courtil", comme disent encore les paysans picards. L'enclos (II) beaucoup plus vaste est appelé le "plant" (herbage planté).

Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6page 7