Conchil-le-Temple (Pas-de-Calais). Uncovering a large farm whose layout is practically identical to that of a Gallo-Roman villa.
 

The same site. Lemaire's reconstructive sketch of the two rural establishments based on the excavations. The lower portion corresponds to the Augustan-era farm.

Gallic settlements : The aedificia (aristocratic Gallic farms)
The case of Conchil-le-Temple
A B C D E F
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6page 7
Conchil-le-Temple (Pas-de-Calais). Uncovering a large farm whose layout is practically identical to that of a Gallo-Roman villa.

The same site. Lemaire's reconstructive sketch of the two rural establishments based on the excavations. The lower portion corresponds to the Augustan-era farm.
The site of Conchil-le-Temple, which was remarkably excavated by F. Lemaire (1995), deserves our specific attention. This large ensemble consists exclusively of wood and earth structures, even though it is from the Roman era and was built shortly after the conquest. It is built according to an overall scheme that is practically identical to that of a Gallo-Roman villa.

Wooden buildings were arranged along the sides of two rectangular courtyards. These courtyards are 250 meters in length; one of them was residential (a), and the other for agriculture and crafts (b). They are separated by a ditch that is interrupted in the middle. Nevertheless, there is no stone foundation, despite the length of time the site was occupied (successive reoccupations over nearly eight centuries!).

The entire farm is surrounded by a long moated, rectangle, which abuts a much older establishment that has twin parallel ditches with an entrance en touche de palmer. Note the presence, in the large grouping, of a bassin de saumure and a remarkable large kiln used for salt production.



Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6page 7

Conchil-le-Temple (Pas-de-Calais). Décapage d'une grande ferme qui présente déjà un plan d'ensemble quasi similaire à celui d'une villa gallo-romaine.
 

Même site. Croquis
d'interprétation de deux établissements ruraux par F. Lemaire à partir de ses fouilles. La partie inférieure correspond à la ferme de la période d'Auguste.

L'habitat gaulois : Les aedificia (fermes gauloises aristocratiques)
Le cas de Conchil-le-Temple
A B C D E F
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6page 7
Conchil-le-Temple (Pas de Calais).

Extrait de l'Archéologue, n°44 oct-nov 94, pp. 39-44
Le site de Conchil-le-Temple, remarquablement fouillé par F. Lemaire (1995), mérite une attention particulière. Ce grand ensemble est uniquement constitué de constructions en bois et en terre, bien qu'il soit d'époque romaine et qu'il ait été édifié peu après la conquête. Il est déjà ordonné selon un plan d'ensemble quasi identique à celui d'une villa gallo-romaine.
Les bâtiments en bois s'ordonnent de part et d'autre de deux cours rectangulaires, s'étendant sur 250 m de long, l'une résidentielle (a), l'autre, agricole et artisanale (b), séparées par un fossé interrompu en son milieu. Toutefois, il n'y a aucune fondation en pierre malgré la durée de l'occupation (et des réoccupations successives sur près de huit siècles!).
L'ensemble s'inscrit dans un long rectangle fossoyé, accolé à un établissement plus ancien qui, lui, est à double fossé parallèle avec une entrée en touche de palmer. Notons la présence, dans le grand ensemble, d'un bassin de saumure et d'un remarquable grand four destiné à la production du sel.



Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6page 7