Gallo-Roman settlements: Developing the land
Variations on a theme
A B C D E F G H
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5
Le Mesge (Somme) Ecoust-Saint-Mein (Pas-de-Calais) Nevertheless, there are a few slight variations to this basic layout. Sometimes, instead of having a rectangular shape, the two courtyards flare outward, taking on a somewhat trapezoidal form, while remaining perfectly geometrical and very large (Agache 1978 et Agache, Bréart 1975). The largest are those at Le Mesge (Somme), Ecoust-Saint-Mein (Pas-de-Calais), and especially the one at Lahoussoye (Somme), the only villa to have three successive courtyards.

A few large villas have overall layouts that are somewhat less regular, although their organization is very similar, like at Malpart (Somme), Daours-Vecquemont (Somme), and Vaux-sur-Somme. In most cases, this irregularity is the result of later modifications, destruction, and rebuilding.
Le Mesge (Somme)
Ecoust-Saint-Mein (Pas-de-Calais)
Lahoussoye (Somme) Malpart (Somme)
Lahoussoye (Somme)
Malpart (Somme)
Flers (Somme) Belleuse (Somme)
Flers (Somme)
Belleuse (Somme)
If the plan of the villa at Belleuse (Somme) appears irregular, it is because this villa was reorganized or reconstructed at least three times. The doorway connecting the two courtyards has clearly been moved on three occasions.
There are many examples of such modifications (Agache 1970 et 1978).


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5

L'habitat gallo-romain : Le système de mise en valeur des terres
Quelques variantes du plan type
A B C D E F G H
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5
Le Mesge (Somme) Ecoust-Saint-Mein (Pas-de-Calais) Cependant, il existe quelques légères variantes à ce plan type. Au lieu d'être bien rectangulaires, les deux cours s'évasent parfois et deviennent ainsi un peu trapézoïdales, tout en demeurant parfaitement géométriques et de très grandes dimensions (Agache 1978 et Agache, Bréart 1975). Les plus vastes sont celles de Le Mesge (Somme), d'Ecoust-Saint-Mein (Pas-de-Calais)... et surtout de Lahoussoye (Somme), la seule qui possède trois cours successives.

Quelques villas importantes disposent d'un plan de masse un peu moins régulier, bien que d'une ordonnance très proche, comme à Malpart (Somme), Daours-Vecquemont (Somme), Vaux-sur-Somme. Dans la plupart des cas, cette irrégularité apparente résulte de remaniements, destructions et réédifications successives.
Le Mesge (Somme)
Ecoust-Saint-Mein (Pas-de-Calais)
Lahoussoye (Somme) Malpart (Somme)
Lahoussoye (Somme)
Malpart (Somme)
Flers (Somme) Belleuse (Somme)
Flers (Somme)
Belleuse (Somme)
Si le plan de la villa de Belleuse (Somme) apparaît irrégulier, c'est que cette villa a été remaniée ou reconstruite au moins trois fois. Ainsi, le portail qui met en communication les deux cours a manifestement été déplacé trois fois.
On a trouvé de multiples exemples de tels remaniements (Agache 1970 et 1978).


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5