A basic farm
at Pont-Remy (Somme).
 
Small villa with a gallery on one side. The main dwelling is hardly larger than the small modern house visible in the foreground to the right. Mercatel (Pas-de-Calais).
 
Church (14th century) and chateau (17th century) in the Somme.
Gallo-Roman settlements: Developing the land
Small and medium-sized villas
A B C D E F G H
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5
A basic farm at Pont-Remy (Somme).

Small villa with a gallery on one side. The main dwelling is hardly larger than the small modern house visible in the foreground to the right. Mercatel (Pas-de-Calais).

Church (14th century) and chateau (17th century) in the Somme.
Smaller-scale villas also exist. In nearly all of them, the overall layout is identical. Most are between 200 and 300 meters long. This length is already considerable. Others are 100 to 200 meters in length, which is still noteworthy. In these small and medium-sized villas, we find the two courtyards and almost always the two principal residences.
When they can be observed, the outbuildings are arranged in the same fashion. In only 4 or 5% of cases, they are placed in no apparent order, but are these really villas?

Finally, there is what geographers call the "basic farm", that is, a house and a barn that face each other, but 75% of the villas located in the wheat fields are more than 200 meters long. It is true, however, that these structures are the least likely to escape the eye of the aerial prospector.
It is the largest villas that dominate the scene, even if they were enlarged gradually, and reached their full size by the early third century, as excavations show.

The villa is the very basis of Romanization, the fundamental victory of Rome, compared with the cities, whose too-ambitious development plans had to be partially curtailed. The villas — systematically built on the best land, following the directions of Roman agronomists as to their organization, orientation, topographical location, and two-courtyard layout — constitute the normal method for developing the land throughout this Galliarum planior.

It was the apogee and the apotheosis of large-scale rural structures in which, uncommonly, the farm buildings and the main residence (a veritable "chateau") formed a coherent whole, planned according to architectural principles, and just as much a monument to prestige as it was a source of revenue.

In contrast, in the rural chateaus of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, the seigneurial farm was pushed to one side, with buildings that were generally eclectic and disorganized. In Antiquity, the rural structures were magnified — they were part of the same global, perfectly geometric architectonic concept. All glory to the master. In the villa's monumental design, we can recognize the Roman tendency for ostentation, theatrical staging, and the search for effect. The countryside was thus embellished because, for Rome, beauty lay in mathematical order. There, as elsewhere, straight lines took the place of curves and Celtic tracery.


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5

Une ferme élémentaire
à Pont-Remy (Somme).
 
Petite villa avec galerie façade. L'habitation principale n'est guère plus grande que la petite maison moderne visible au premier plan à droite.
Mercatel (Pas-de-Calais).
 
Église (XIVe s.) et château (XVIIe s.) dans la Somme.
L'habitat gallo-romain : Le système de mise en valeur des terres
Les petites et moyennes villas
A B C D E F G H
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5
Une ferme élémentaire à Pont-Remy (Somme).

Petite villa avec galerie façade. L'habitation principale n'est guère plus grande que la petite maison moderne visible au premier plan à droite. Mercatel (Pas-de-Calais).

Église (XIVe s.) et château (XVIIe s.) dans la Somme.
Il existe des villas aux dimensions plus petites. Presque toutes ont un plan de masse à peu près identique. La majorité est comprise entre 200 et 300 m. Cette longueur est déjà énorme. D'autres ne font que 100 à 200 m de longueur, ce qui est encore notable. Dans ces villas moyennes et petites, on retrouve les deux cours et presque toujours les deux habitations principales.
Les dépendances sont disposées de la même façon quand elles sont discernables. Dans 4 à 5 % des cas seulement, elles sont disséminées sans ordre apparent, mais s'agit-il alors réellement de villas ?
Enfin, il y a ce que les géographes appellent la "ferme élémentaire", c'est-à-dire la maison et la grange situées face à face, mais 75 % des villas implantées dans les terres à blé ont plus de 200 m. Il est vrai que ce sont celles qui risquent le moins d'échapper au prospecteur aérien.
Ce sont les plus vastes villas qui dominent, même si elles se sont agrandies progressivement pour atteindre leur taille au début du IIIe siècle, comme en témoignent les fouilles.

C'est la base même de la romanisation. C'est la réussite fondamentale de Rome par opposition aux villes dont les plans trop ambitieux avortent partiellement. Systématiquement implantées sur les terres les plus riches, selon les prescriptions des agronomes latins quant à l'organisation, l'orientation, l'implantation topographique et aussi au plan à deux cours, elles constituent le mode normal de mise en valeur des terres dans toute cette pars Galliarum planior.

C'est l'apogée et l'apothéose de la grande exploitation rurale où, fait rare, celle-ci et l'imposante habitation principale (véritable "château") forment un tout cohérent, conçu selon des principes architecturaux et qui est autant un monument de prestige qu'une source de revenus.
Par contre, dans les châteaux ruraux du XVIIe et XVIIIe siècle, la ferme seigneuriale est rejetée sur le côté avec des constructions généralement hétéroclites et désordonnées, alors que dans l'Antiquité, l'exploitation rurale est magnifiée : elle fait partie du même concept architectonique global, parfaitement géométrique. Le maître en tire gloire. Dans cette conception monumentale de la villa, on reconnaît une tendance latine à l'ostentation, à la mise en scène théâtrale, à la recherche de l'effet. La campagne est ainsi embellie car, pour Rome, la beauté est d'ordre mathématique. Là, comme ailleurs, la ligne droite va se substituer aux tracés curvilignes et aux entrelacs celtiques.


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5