A mill mount was erected in modern times over the location of the main residence of a Gallo-Roman villa. Beauquesne (Somme).
 
 
Ancient sanctuary beneath the vanished hamlet of Saint-Agnan at Grivesnes (Somme).
 
In the same way, we can make out a large villa at the edge of the village of La Houssoye (Somme).
 
The Middle Ages and the birth of the rural world
Towards a new rural landscape
page 1page 2page 3page 4 page 5 page 6
Ancient sanctuary beneath the vanished hamlet of Saint-Agnan at Grivesnes (Somme).

In the same way, we can make out a large villa at the edge of the village of La Houssoye (Somme).

A mill mount was erected in modern times over the location of the main residence of a Gallo-Roman villa. Beauquesne (Somme).   
It is sometimes difficult to speak of the permanence of habitations because of the fragility of their remains, often found in archaeological layers close to plowed surfaces. Nevertheless, in certain cases, recent excavations of Gallo-Roman villas prove that structures were erected on the same site, following the general layout of previous foundations.

One could imagine that new villages formed along the Roman roads that the Leti were entrusted with defending, as well as in the vicinity of ruined structures. Apparently, however, a number of villas were more or less abandoned. The vast ruins that remained attracted — for a very long time thereafter — squatters, treasure hunters and, above all, those who wanted to reuse their building materials.

During the fourth century and possibly later, the strong demographic drop probably led to the abandon of certain large establishments, and the regrouping of the population into others.

Thus, near certain modern villages we find ancient sanctuaries and villas. It is probable that the Roman ruins and their materials attracted peasants, even long after the site had been abandoned. Aerial images show that, beneath villages and hamlets that were abandoned during the wars of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, there are always ancient foundations, although we cannot say when this alteration took place. This leads us to think that this must also be the case with the villages that exist to this day.


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6

Une butte de moulin a été
édifiée au cours des temps
modernes sur l'emplacement
de l'habitation principale
d'une villa gallo-romaine.
Beauquesne (Somme).
 
 
Sanctuaire antique sous le hameau disparu de Saint-Agnan à Grivesnes (Somme).
 
De même, aux abords du village
de La Houssoye (Somme), on distingue une grande villa.
 
Le Moyen Âge et la génèse du monde rural
Vers un nouveau paysage rural
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6
A côté du village de Grivesnes (Somme) se trouve un sanctuaire antique.

De même, aux abords du village de La Houssoye (Somme).

Beauquesne (Somme).   
Il est souvent difficile de parler de la permanence de l'habitat en raison de la fragilité des vestiges, rencontrés dans les couches archéologiques proches de la surface des labours. Toutefois, dans certains cas, les fouilles récentes de villas gallo-romaines prouvent que des constructions se sont à nouveau élevées sur le même site, en reprenant, dans les grandes lignes, les fondations antérieures.

On peut penser que de nouveaux villages se sont formés le long des voies romaines que ces Lètes étaient chargés de défendre, ainsi qu'à proximité d'établissements en ruines. Toutefois, bien des villas ont été, apparemment, plus ou moins abandonnées. Ces vastes ruines qui perdurent ont attiré, même très longtemps après, des " squatters ", voire des chercheurs de trésors, et surtout des récupérateurs de matériaux.

La forte déflation démographique a probablement entraîné l'abandon de certains grands établissements et le regroupement de la population sur d'autres, au cours du IVe siècle et peut-être des siècles suivants.

Ainsi, à proximité de certains villages actuels, on décèle des sanctuaires antiques ou des villas. Il est probable que ce soient les ruines romaines et leurs matériaux qui aient attiré les paysans, même après un long abandon du site. Les images aériennes montrent que, sous les villages et hameaux abandonnés au cours des guerres des XVIe et XVIIe siècles, on observe toujours des substructions antiques, sans que l'on puisse dire quand cette mutation s'est opérée. Cela incite à penser qu'il doit en être de même sous les agglomérations qui subsistent de nos jours.



Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6