The ghostly reappearance of ancient land registries in the Santerre (Somme).
 
A Gallo-Roman villa revealed by dark patches that correspond to the collapse of the stone walls of the various buildings, Quevauvillers (Somme).
 
The reappearance of ancient land registries.
Introduction
What is aerial archaeology?
page 1page 2
The ghostly reappearance of ancient land registries in the Santerre (Somme).

A Gallo-Roman villa revealed by dark patches that correspond to the collapse of the stone walls of the various buildings, Quevauvillers (Somme).

The reappearance of ancient land registries.
Aerial archaeology consists of looking for vestiges of the past from the air, and then of taking photographs of anomalies, often fleeting, which are clues to sites buried beneath the soil. These photographs are carefully studied, archived, and compared from season to season.

An aerial view provides the necessary perspective for a good understanding of the landscape and of certain telling phenomena that are sometimes diffcult — and even impossible — to see at ground level. The aerial archaeologist photographs ghosts of the past that fleetingly appear, as if by a miracle, and disappear just as mysteriously. The role of the aerial archaeologist is to freeze these ephemeral appearances — the fugitive, evanescent moment of the past. The flyer learns to watch his or her feet, like those who used to search, and still do. The keen nose of the "antiquarian" of yesteryear is nothing more than a sharpened sense of observation. One can play at being an aerial photographer, but not an aerial archaeologist.

Some scientific and historical training is necessary. An apprenticeship is necessary before starting to prospect, and the serious aerial archaeologist always checks his or her discoveries on the ground, photographs in hand. The principal quality of an aerial archaeologist is perseverance, to the point of being obstinate. It is not unusual for a site to be discovered only after dozens of fruitless prospecting attempts.

It is hoped that this web site will inspire the archaeologist as well as the hiker to rediscover, from the air or simply on the ground, the beautiful French countryside — impregnated with the past, molded and shaped by thousands of years of history and the work of the human hand…


Top
page 1page 2

Réapparition fantômatique d'anciens cadastres dans le Santerre (Somme).
 
Une villa gallo-romaine
révélée grâce à des aires
sombres correspondant à
l'effondrement de murs en pisé
des différents bâtiments,
Quevauvillers (Somme).
 
Réapparition d'anciens cadastres.
Présentation
Définition de l'archéologie aérienne
page 1page 2
Réapparition fantomatique d'anciens cadastres dans le Santerre (Somme).

Une villa gallo-romaine révélée grâce à des aires sombres, Quevauvillers (Somme).

Réapparition d'anciens cadastres.
L'archéologie aérienne consiste à rechercher du ciel les traces du passé et surtout à fixer, par des images photographiques, les anomalies révélatrices de sites enfouis, apparitions souvent fugitives, pour les étudier attentivement, les archiver et les comparer au fil des saisons.
La vision aérienne donne le recul nécessaire à la bonne compréhension du paysage et de certains phénomènes révélateurs, parfois bien difficilement perceptibles du sol, parfois même pas du tout. L'archéologue aérien est un photographe des fantômes du passé qui apparaissent fugitivement comme par miracle et disparaissent aussi mystérieusement. Le rôle de l'archéologue aérien est de fixer ces apparitions éphémères, le fugace, l'évanescent, l'instant qui passe. L'avion apprend à regarder à ses pieds, comme le faisaient (et le font encore) certains "hommes de terrain". Le flair des "antiquaires" de jadis n'est rien d'autre qu'un sens aigu de l'observation. On peut s'improviser photographe aérien mais pas archéologue aérien.
Il faut avoir un certain bagage scientifique et historique. Un apprentissage est indispensable avant de se lancer dans la prospection, l'archéologue sérieux contrôle toujours ses découvertes au sol, les clichés photographiques en main. Sa principale qualité est la persévérance, pour ne pas dire l'obstination. II n'est pas rare qu'un site enfoui ne se révèle qu'après des dizaines de prospections vaines.
Puisse ce site web inciter l'archéologue, comme le promeneur, à redécouvrir d'avion ou même simplement au sol, nos belles campagnes imprégnées du passé, modelées, façonnées par des millénaires d'histoire et de labeur...


Haut de page
page 1page 2