The long-vanished medieval village of Ogle in Great Britain.
Photo: J. K. Saint-Joseph
History
Research in Europe
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5
The long-vanished medieval village of Ogle in Great Britain. Photo: J. K. Saint-Joseph In Great Britain in 1922, O.G.S. Crawford was the first to detect archaeological sites that had been completely leveled in regions where widespread agriculture had rendered sightings more difficult. With the help of a colleague, who financed the first systematic prospecting in Wessex, Crawford published what would be a fundamental book for the history of the discipline (Crawford et Keiller 1928), and then another spectacular volume in 1929. The heaven-sent revelation of the "ghosts of Wessex",
and then another spectacular volume in 1929. The heaven-sent revelation of the "ghosts of Wessex" was greeted with general amazement and great enthusiasm. Starting in 1939, truly remarkable photographs were taken by Professor John Kenneth Saint-Joseph After the war, he continued to fly, using Royal Air Force planes. Then, from a specially-equipped plane belonging to Cambridge University, and with the help of a very experience pilot, Saint-Joseph (1966) took hundreds of thousands of large-format black and white photographs until 1980. Not content with merely being a flying archaeologist, he also photographed and studied everything that could be of interest in a wide range of scientific domains. He specialized in the excavations of Roman camps.

In Germany, research began in 1960, led by Irwin Scollar and then Otto Braasch. Charles Léva would do the same in Belgium in 1965, and it was Léva who used his own money to create an important Interdisciplinary Aerial Research Center (CIRA).


Overall view of a Roman town, Silchester (Hampshire), Great Britain. Photo: J. K. Saint-Joseph   Detail of the Roman town of Silchester (Hampshire), Great Britain. Photo: J. K. Saint-Joseph.
Overall view of a Roman town, Silchester (Hampshire), Great Britain. Photo: J. K. Saint-Joseph   Detail of the Roman town of Silchester (Hampshire), Great Britain. Photo: J. K. Saint-Joseph.

Elsewhere in Europe, studies have developed more recently in Italy, Spain, the Netherlands, Romania, Switzerland, Luxembourg, and Sweden. To learn more about these various efforts, see the proceedings of the most recent international aerial archaeology colloquium, which was held in Amiens in 1992 (published in 1999 under the direction of B. Bréart).
In Metropolitan France, it was only after 1950 that archaeologists demonstrated that aerial surveys, such as those carried out by the IGN, could reveal not only major structures such as Roman roads, but also buried remains, even in areas where agriculture had leveled every trace of them.

This was thanks to, among others, Roger Chevallier, P. Lebel, J. Bradford about use of aerial surveys from IGN. Le Gall's efforts at Vieil-Evreux (Eure) were so remarkable that they inspired some archaeologists to try it themselves, using planes from flying clubs and small, amateur 35mm cameras.



Top
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5

Le village médiéval disparu
d'Ogle, Grande-Bretagne.
Photo J. K. Saint-Joseph
Historique
La recherche en Europe
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5
Le village médiéval disparu d'Ogle, Grande-Bretagne. Photo J. K. Saint-Joseph. En Grande Bretagne, O.G.S. Crawford est le premier, en 1922, à avoir détecté des sites archéologiques totalement nivelés dans des régions où l'agriculture généralisée rend les repérages plus difficiles. Avec l'aide d'un collègue qui finança cette première prospection systématique dans le Wessex, ce chercheur anglais publia un livre fondamental pour l'histoire de cette discipline (Crawford et Keiller 1928) puis un autre très spectaculaire en 1929. Ce fut la stupéfaction générale et un grand enthousiasme devant
cette révélation inespérée des "ghosts of Wessex", ces fantômes du passé. Les plus remarquables clichés ont été réalisés par le professeur John Kenneth Saint-Joseph à partir de 1939. Après la guerre, il continue à voler avec des avions de la Royal Air Force. Puis, à bord d'un avion de l'Université de Cambridge spécialement équipé, et avec le concours d'un pilote très entraîné, Saint-Joseph (1966) prit lui-même jusqu'en 1980 des centaines de milliers de clichés grands formats en noir et blanc. Il ne s'est pas contenté d'être seulement un archéologue volant, il photographia et étudia tout ce qui d'avion pouvait avoir un intérêt dans les domaines scientifiques les plus variés. Il se spécialisa dans la fouille des camps romains.
En Allemagne Les recherches ont été entreprises, à partir de 1960, par Irwin. Scollar, puis par Otto Braasch; en Belgique en 1965 par Charles Léva. Ce dernier a créé, avec des moyens personnels, un important centre interdisciplinaire de recherches aériennes (CIRA).


Vue d'ensemble d'une ville romaine, Silchester (Hampshire), Grande-Bretagne. Photo J. K. Saint-Joseph   Détail de la ville romaine, Silchester (Hampshire), Grande-Bretagne.
Vue d'ensemble d'une ville romaine, Silchester (Hampshire), Grande-Bretagne.
Photo J. K. Saint-Joseph
  Détail de la ville romaine, Silchester (Hampshire), Grande-Bretagne.
Photo J. K. Saint-Joseph.

Ailleurs en Europe, des études se développèrent plus récemment en Italie, en Espagne, aux Pays-Bas, en Roumanie, en Suisse, au Luxembourg, en Suède. Pour en savoir plus, il faut consulter, à ce sujet, les actes du dernier colloque international d'archéologie aérienne qui eut lieu à Amiens en 1992 (publié en 1999 sous la direction de B. Bréart).
En France métropolitaine, ce n'est guère qu'après 1950 que des archéologues démontrèrent que les couvertures aériennes, comme celles menées par l'IGN, pouvaient permettre de repérer non seulement les grandes structures du paysage comme les voies romaines, mais aussi des vestiges enfouis, même dans des régions où l'agriculture avait tout arasé.
Ce fut le mérite, entre autres, de Roger Chevallier, de P. Lebel, de J. Bradford. C'est Le Gall, qui le premier, publia en 1954, une remarquable étude en utilisant les couvertures aériennes de l'IGN au Vieil-Evreux (Eure), incitant ainsi certains archéologues de terrain à tenter l'aventure et à opérer eux-mêmes avec des avions d'aéro-clubs et de petits appareils photographiques 24x36 d'amateurs.



Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5