The Bay of the Somme
on a summer evening…
A Portrait of Roger Agache
A childhood in the Picardy countryside
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6
The Bay of the Somme on a summer evening… Was it destiny that this future archaeologist from Picardy was born in Amiens, in the suburb of Saint-Acheul (Somme) in 1926? His parents both worked for the French railway company, the SNCF.
His health was so fragile that he was sent to breath "good air" at his grandparents' house at Prouzel, a little village near the Picardy capital. All his life, Roger Agache has kept the wonderful memory of the green paradise of his childhood.
His grandfather instilled in him a sense of observation and a taste for independence. Little by little he acquired a passion for nature, for solitude, and for contemplation, somewhat in the manner of Jean-Jacques Rousseau, whose autobiography made a strong impression on Agache.
Later, in memory of this rural world, Roger Agache would dedicate one of his collections of photographs to the farmers who had constructed this landscape that was still preserved at the time:

"In homage to the old Picardy farmers and to their ancestors, who passionately cultivated the land instead of exploiting it, to those rural people of another age whose incessant labor shaped a deeply humanized, harmonious, and balanced landscape fashioned from a thousand years of agrarian wisdom, but which today has been ravaged by the barbarians of our time: the technocrats, promoters, and speculators."


His grandfather wanted him to be a virtuoso pianist. But for love of the countryside, all Roger Agache dreamed of was becoming a village policeman. He became an archaeologist — for the same reason.
After his grandfather's death, he returned to Amiens where he continued his studies.


Ancient Roman road
at Domart-en-Ponthieu (Somme).

  Ancienne voie romaine à Domart-en-Ponthieu (Somme).


Top
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6

La Baie de Somme,
un soir d'été...
Portrait de Roger Agache
Une enfance dans la campagne picarde
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6
La Baie de Somme, un soir d'été... Est-ce une prédestination pour ce futur archéologue picard que d'être né à Amiens, dans le faubourg de Saint-Acheul (Somme) le 16 août 1926 ? Ses parents travaillaient pour la Société Nationale des Chemins de Fer.
Sa santé est si fragile qu'on l'envoie au "bon air" chez ses grands-parents à Prouzel, un petit village situé à proximité de la capitale picarde. Roger Agache gardera toute sa vie un souvenir émerveillé du paradis vert de son enfance...
Son grand-père lui transmet le sens de l'observation et le goût de l'indépendance. Il acquiert peu à peu cette passion de la nature, de la solitude et de la contemplation, un peu comme Jean-Jacques Rousseau dont l'œuvre autobiographique le marque profondément.
En souvenir de ce monde rural, il dédiera plus tard l'un de ses recueils de photographies aériennes aux cultivateurs qui ont construit ce paysage alors
encore préservé :

"En hommage à ces vieux paysans picards et à leurs ancêtres qui cultivaient passionnément la terre au lieu de l'exploiter, à ces paysans d'autrefois dont le labeur incessant avait façonné un paysage profondément humanisé, harmonieux, équilibré, fait d'une sagesse agraire millénaire,
mais aujourd'hui livré aux saccages des barbares de notre temps :
les technocrates, les promoteurs, les chasseurs de profit."



Son grand-père voulait en faire un pianiste virtuose. Roger Agache ne rêvait que de devenir garde-champêtre par amour de la campagne. Il deviendra archéologue...
pour la même raison. Après le décès de sa grand-mère, il retourne à Amiens où il poursuit ses études.


Ancienne voie romaine
à Domart-en-Ponthieu (Somme).

  Ancienne voie romaine à Domart-en-Ponthieu (Somme).


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6