Roger Agache's first convincing discovery in 1962: a typical entrance to a Roman camp on Mont Câtelet at Vendeuil-Caply (Oise).
 
An immediate check at ground level, followed by an excavation that convinced the skeptics.
 
A few years later, the same site, revealed in its entirety thanks to the presence of morning dew.
A Portrait of Roger Agache
First aerial flyovers
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6
Roger Agache's first convincing discovery in 1962: a typical entrance to a Roman camp on Mont Câtelet at Vendeuil-Caply (Oise).

An immediate check at ground level, followed by an excavation that convinced the skeptics.

A few years later, the same site, revealed in its entirety thanks to the presence of morning dew.
In 1955 and 1956, Roger Agache made his first aerial flyovers above the villages that he loved the most, with no other goal — and obviously with no other result — than the marvelous sensation that a low-altitude aerial view produces!
Léon Aufrère, the historian and geographer, encouraged him to go through aerial images in the same way that professor Le Gall had done for Vieil-Evreux. Aufrère had him study the archaeological photographs of the English specialists, as well as the rare images that had already been published in France by Pierre Parruzot, D. Diehl, Roger Chevallier and Bernard Edeine. Finally, he urged Agache to take up aerial prospecting over the sites that Agache was excavating, particularly around the Neolithic mines at Hardivillers (Oise).
These occasional flyovers did not produce immediate results. Curiously, however, it was often during the flights back that Roger Agache by chance noted lines similar to those in the publications of O.G.S. Crawford. This encouraged him to extend his flyovers, the results of which he began to publish as of 1960.
He met with only skepticism and irony, despite convincing test excavations. Professor Ernest Will, however, gave Agache his unwavering support. In 1961, during the presentation of his results to the French Prehistoric Society, he received the support of Raymond Chevallier, whose photographic interpretations courses he had been following. He then threw himself headlong into this discipline that was still so controversial in France. The following two years were fruitful ones, and he managed to obtain, especially at Vendeuil-Caply (Oise), photographs that revealed such characteristic Roman structures that he began to be taken seriously.


Top
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6

La première découverte convaincante de Roger Agache en 1962 : une entrée typique du camp romain sur le Mont Câtelet à Vendeuil-Caply, (Oise).
 
Contrôle immédiat au sol, suivi de peu par une fouille qui convainquit les sceptiques.
 
Le même site se révèle entièrement quelques années plus tard grâce
à la rosée matinale.
Portrait de Roger Agache
Premiers survols aériens : enthousiasme et désillusions
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6
La première découverte convaincante de Roger Agache en 1962.

Contrôle immédiat au sol, suivi de peu par une fouille qui convainquit les sceptiques.

Le même site se révèle entièrement quelques années plus tard grâce à la rosée matinale.
En 1955 et 1956, Roger Agache fait ses premiers survols aériens au-dessus des villages qu'il aime le plus, sans autre but, et évidemment sans autre résultat, que l'émerveillement que procure la vision aérienne à basse altitude !
Léon Aufrère, historien et géographe, l'incite alors à dépouiller les couvertures aériennes à l'exemple de ce que fit le professeur Le Gall pour Vieil-Evreux. Il le pousse à étudier les clichés archéologiques des spécialistes anglais, ainsi que les rares vues déjà publiées en France par Pierre Parruzot, D. Diehl, Roger Chevallier et Bernard Edeine. Enfin, il l'invite à entreprendre des prospections aériennes au-dessus des sites que Roger Agache fouille, notamment autour des minières néolithiques à Hardivillers (Oise).
Ces survols ponctuels ne donnent pas de résultats immédiats. Mais, curieusement, c'est souvent sur les parcours de retour que Roger Agache repère par hasard des tracés comparables à ceux des publications de O.G.S. Crawford. Cela l'incite à étendre ses survols dont il publie les résultats dès 1960.
Il ne rencontre alors que scepticisme et ironie, malgré des sondages de contrôle convaincants. Toutefois, le professeur Ernest Will lui apporte un soutien sans faille. En 1961, à l'occasion d'une présentation de ses résultats à la Société Préhistorique Française, il reçoit l'appui de Raymond Chevallier, dont il suivra les cours de photo-interprétation. Il se lance alors à corps perdu dans cette discipline si contestée en France. Les deux années suivantes sont fructueuses et il obtient, surtout à Vendeuil-Caply (Oise), des clichés révélateurs de structures romaines si caractéristiques qu'il commence à être pris au sérieux.


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6