Flying a Piper Cub
in 1963
A Portrait of Roger Agache
International recognition
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6
Flying a Piper Cub in 1963 In 1962, Roger Agache published a brochure entitled Vues aériennes de la Somme et recherches de son passé, with 93 illustrations. It was the first publication of its kind in France, and was widely distributed thanks to an international conference organized by Raymond Chevallier (Paris, 1963), who gave him a significant share of the exhibition and featured him in the catalogue. The top international specialists were excited by these photographs that had been obtained with such simple means.

Irwin Scollar and John Kenneth Saint-Joseph immediately became close friends, and gave him access to the major international periodicals, which began to publish Agache's work starting in 1964. J. K. Saint-Joseph had made several flights in the north of France in the summer of 1961, and had published his observations in Antiquity in 1962. He did not hide his disappointment — the widespread presence of fertile areas of silt on the plateaus made prospecting more difficult than in England. Indeed, anomalies in crop growth in northern France were much less apparent than in the poorer soils across the Channel.
Farmers, whom Roger Agache always visited — to his benefit — told him that in wintertime spots and lines appeared in their fields. During the winter of 1963–64, he flew more and more, despite the turbulence, which he very much disliked! Two pilot friends were killed. A failed engine and, above all, an in-flight fire terrified him, but he persisted.
The results of these winter flyovers exceeded every expectation, both in terms of the number of discoveries as well as the precision — unheard-of until then — of the photographs in depicting the layouts of large Gallo-Roman villas whose existence had been heretofore unknown.


His publications in international scientific journals soon made him internationally famous, which was confirmed by his important summary that was published in 1970 — British academics such as Glyn Daniel were quick to hail it as a classic, on the same level as Crawford — and by the widespread distribution of a series of slides by the National Pedagogic Institute.
  Roger Agache next to his biplane in 1963.
  Roger Agache next to his biplane in 1963.


Top
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6

Mission en
Piper Cub en 1963
Portrait de Roger Agache
Vers une reconnaissance internationale
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6
Mission en Piper Cub en 1963 En 1962, Roger Agache publie une brochure, intitulée Vues aériennes de la Somme et recherches de son passé, avec 93 illustrations. C'est le premier album du genre paru en France. Il sera largement diffusé grâce au colloque international organisé par Raymond Chevallier (Paris, 1963), qui lui accorde une large place dans l'exposition ainsi que dans le catalogue. Les meilleurs spécialistes étrangers sont enthousiasmés par l'intérêt des clichés obtenus avec d'aussi faibles moyens. Irwin Scollar et John Kenneth Saint-Joseph
deviendront vite des amis fidèles ; ils lui ouvriront l'accès aux grands périodiques internationaux qui, dès 1964, publient ses travaux. J. K. Saint-Joseph avait fait quelques survols dans le Nord de la France pendant l'été 1961 et publié ses observations dans la revue Antiquity en 1962 ; il ne cachait pas sa déception : la présence quasi généralisée de limons fertiles sur les plateaux rendaient les prospections plus difficiles qu'en Angleterre. Effectivement, les anomalies de la croissance des céréales sont en France septentrionale bien moins apparentes que sur les terres pauvres d'Outre-Manche.
Les paysans, que Roger Agache a toujours fréquenté avec profit, lui affirment que l'hiver des taches et des lignes apparaissent dans les labours. Au cours de l'hiver 1963-64, il multiplie donc les survols dont il supporte mal les turbulences ! Deux de ses amis pilotes se tuent. Une panne de moteur et surtout un incendie en vol le terrifient, mais il s'obstine.
Les résultats de ces survols hivernaux dépassent toutes les espérances tant par le nombre de découvertes que par la précision, alors inégalée, de clichés de plans de grandes villas gallo-romaines dont personne ne soupçonnait l'existence.


Ses publications dans les revues scientifiques étrangères lui valent bientôt une notoriété internationale, confirmée par son important ouvrage de synthèse paru en 1970 - que des universitaires britanniques, tels que Glyn Daniel, considèrent vite comme un ouvrage classique,
au même titre que Crawford - et par la large diffusion d'une série de diapositives par l'Institut Pédagogique National.

  Roger Agache à côté de son biplan en 1963. Photo : Sylvie Agache
  Roger Agache à côté de son biplan en 1963.


Haut de page
page 1page 2page 3page 4page 5page 6