At Noyelles-sur-Mer in the Somme, crop growth is more marked over ancient rubble. The aerial photograph reveals subcirculaire lines that correspond to moated enclosures from
the Bronze Age.
 
 
Crop growth anomalies
Crops that tell a story...
page 1page 2
At Noyelles-sur-Mer in the Somme, crop growth is more marked over ancient rubble. The aerial photograph reveals subcirculaire lines that correspond to moated enclosures from the Bronze Age. Noyelles-sur-Mer (Somme), on the ground.
Noyelles-sur-Mer (Somme), on the ground.

We speak of anomalies in crop growth (or phytographics clues) when there is a difference in the height and color of growing crops. Henri Delétang (1999) expressed it very well when he said that "the plants speak". In general, crop growth is more vigorous and more rapid over the site of ancient rubble, which is damper and more fertile. On the other hand, crops have a tendency to grow poorly over buried foundations. Nevertheless, under very exceptional atmospheric and meteorological conditions, the exact opposite can occur.

Drought is particularly favorable for these anomalies, especially when it occurs when the plants need water, i.e. when crops really start to push up vigorously.

Differences in crop growth
Under normal climatic conditions, crops, and grain crops in particular, provide the aerial archaeologist with good observation conditions, at a time when they are growing the fastest — and before there has been too much spreading of selective weedkillers and fertilizers, which quickly eliminate almost every difference.

Remiencourt (Somme), discovery of the foundations of a small, leveled-off Gallo-Roman temple.
Remiencourt (Somme), discovery of the foundations
of a small, leveled-off Gallo-Roman temple.

At Noyelles-sur-Mer in the Somme, crop growth is more marked over ancient rubble. The aerial photograph reveals subcirculaire lines that correspond to moated enclosures from the Bronze Age.
Remiencourt (Somme), ground-level view.
Remiencourt (Somme), ground-level view.

These ditches, which have slowly filled in over the years, make for more fertile soil. This explains why crops grow more vigorously in these areas. This is confirmed here by core samples. When arable soil is taken away, we can better understand that grain crops grow with difficulty in these clayish soils, although they grow much better over the site of the ancient ditch.
On the other hand, crops grow less well over the site of buried foundations, like at Remiencourt (Somme), where they are less well-developed over the chalk foundations of a small, Gallo-Roman temple. This can be seen when examining the soil: the crops are shorter and one can see white stones thrown up by the plow.


Top
page 1page 2

Noyelles-sur-Mer
(Somme), vue aérienne
d'enclos funéraires de l'âge du Bronze.
 
 
Les anomalies de la croissance des cultures
Les plantes parlent...
page 1page 2
Enclos funéraires de l'âge du Bronze. Noyelles-sur-Mer (Somme). Noyelles-sur-Mer (Somme), vue au sol pendant le sondage.
Noyelles-sur-Mer (Somme), vue au sol
pendant le sondage.

Les anomalies de la croissance des cultures (ou indices phytographiques) correspondent à une différence de hauteur et de couleur dans la pousse des cultures. Comme le dit fort justement Henri Delétang (1999) : "les plantes parlent".
En général, à l'emplacement d'anciens remblais, plus fertiles et plus humides, la végétation est plus vigoureuse et sa maturation est plus rapide. En revanche, les plantes ont tendance à s'étioler au niveau de substructions enfouies. Cependant, lors de conditions atmosphériques et météorologiques exceptionnelles, on observe l'inversion totale de ces phénomènes.
La sécheresse est particulièrement favorable à ces anomalies, surtout quand elle se produit au moment où la plante a besoin d'eau, c'est-à-dire quand sa croissance prend un vigoureux départ.

Différences dans la croissance des cultures
Dans des conditions climatiques normales, les plantes, et en particulier les céréales, permettent à l'archéologue aérien de bonnes observations, au moment où leur croissance est des plus rapides et dès lors qu'il n'y a pas encore trop d'épandages catastrophiques de désherbants sélectifs et d'engrais qui effacent rapidement presque toute différence.

Remiencourt (Somme), petit temple gallo-romain arasé.
Remiencourt (Somme), découverte des fondations
d'un petit temple gallo-romain arasé.

A Noyelles-sur-Mer dans la Somme, la hauteur des cultures est plus marquée au-dessus d'anciens remblais. La photo aérienne révèle des tracés subcirculaires correspondant à des enclos fossoyés de l'âge du Bronze.
Même site, vu au sol, peu après le repérage aérien.
Remiencourt (Somme), vue au sol.

Ces fossés, qui se sont lentement remblayés au cours des années, sont constitués d'une terre plus fertile. Cela explique la croissance plus vigoureuse des cultures à cet endroit. Ici, un sondage le confirme. Lorsqu'on enlève la terre arable, on comprend mieux que sur ces sols crayeux pauvres, les céréales poussent difficilement alors qu'elles sont nettement plus développées au-dessus de l'ancien fossé.
A l'inverse, les cultures poussent moins bien au-dessus de fondations enfouies, comme à Remiencourt (Somme) où elles sont moins vigoureuses au-dessus des fondations en craie d'un ancien petit temple gallo-romain. Cela s'observe aussi lors du contrôle au sol : céréales moins hautes et présence de quelques pierres blanches remontées par la charrue.


Haut de page
page 1page 2