False-color infrared photography: the Gallo-Roman sanctuary at Saint-Maur-en-Chaussée (Oise).
 
False-color infrared photography: Gallo-Roman foundations at Bourdon (Somme).
Choosing a format
 
page 1
False-color infrared photography: the Gallo-Roman sanctuary at Saint-Maur-en-Chaussée (Oise).

False-color infrared photography: Gallo-Roman foundations at Bourdon (Somme).
Classic emulsions
Black and white photographs are generally difficult to take. Excellent black and white prints can be obtained by shooting slightly underexposed color slide film, and then copying the desired slides with a black and white internegative. In addition, revealing contrasts can be heightened by copying the color slides.

The best results are obtained with standard emulsions in normal colors (Roger Agache prefers Kodachrome, because of its high quality of the stock, processing, and excellent preservation). Some new emulsions (such as the 100 ASA Fujichrome Provia) are very attractive. Nevertheless, we don't know yet if its colors will change over time.
False-color infrared films (shot with a #12 yellow Wratten filter) are mostly shot in specific cases — in bad weather, or when normal colors are too flat (the dominant blush cast to winter skies, for example). Their use is very limited — but they impress the layperson!
Over the past several years, ordinary color negative film has improved greatly and gives excellent prints on color papers. Its wider exposure range is to be noted. However, this type of film is fragile and more difficult to store than slide film.

Digital prints
A digital image consists of a simple grid of dots (or pixels) arranged in columns and rows. Each pixel can be located by its X and Y coordinates, as well as by a sampling code or value corresponding to the saved image size. This is a bitmap image, as opposed to a vector image, which is defined geometrically.

The definition is given in terms of the width and height expressed in pixels (e.g. 2000 x 3000 pixels). The resolution is the number of pixels per inch. The more pixels per inch, the better the image.

Each pixel in a digital image has a code in the form of numbers, based on analog data. Pixel coding uses a binary system that is expressed in bits.
A bit can be either 0 or 1. In the absence of an electronic signal triggered by light, the bit is equal to 0 and the pixel is black. If there is a a signal, the bit is equal to 1 and the pixel is white.

If we code each of the three RGB colors (Red, Green, Blue) on the basis of 8 bits/pixel, we wind up with 28x28x28 possibilities, or about 16.7 million different shades of color. Coding for each of the three colors can also be done on the basis of 10, 12, or even 16 bits per pixel (used in the photo-engraving process in printing), thus increasing the possible number of nuances.
It should be remembered that digital image files can be extremely large, depending on how they will be used.



Top
page 1

Photo infrarouge fausses
couleurs du sanctuaire
gallo-romain de
Saint-Maur-en-Chaussée
(Oise).
 
Photo infrarouge fausses
couleurs de substructions
gallo-romaines à Bourdon
(Somme).
Les supports photographiques
 
page 1
Photo infrarouge fausses couleurs du sanctuaire gallo-romain de Saint-Maur-en-Chaussée (Oise).

Photo infrarouge fausses couleurs de substructions gallo-romaines à Bourdon (Somme).
Les émulsions classiques
Les clichés en noir et blanc sont en général plus difficiles à réaliser que les inversibles couleurs, en sous-exposant légèrement ces dernières, puis en contretypant les meilleures diapositives (en passant par un internégatif noir et blanc), on obtient alors d'excellents tirages noir et blanc. Par ailleurs, il est possible d'augmenter les contrastes révélateurs en faisant des duplicata des diapositives.

Les meilleurs résultats sont obtenus avec des émulsions courantes en couleurs normales (Roger Agache utilise surtout des kodachromes, en raison de la bonne qualité du support, du traitement et surtout de leur excellente durée de conservation). De nouvelles émulsions, (type Fujichrome Provia, 100 ASA) sont très séduisantes. Toutefois, le recul manque pour savoir si les couleurs ne seront pas altérées
par le temps.
 
 

Les films infrarouges fausses couleurs (avec filtre jaune " Wattren " 12), sont surtout utilisés dans des cas particuliers : par mauvais temps ou lorsque les couleurs normales seraient trop laides (dominante bleutée des ciels gris d'hiver, par exemple). Leur intérêt est très réduit, mais... ils impressionnent le profane !
Depuis quelques années, les négatifs couleurs ordinaires se sont grandement améliorés et donnent d'excellents tirages sur papier couleurs. Leur latitude de pose, plus grande, mérite d'être soulignée. Mais ces négatifs sont plus fragiles et plus difficiles à classer que les diapositives.

Les tirages numériques
Une image numérique est une grille de points élémentaires, rangés en lignes et en colonnes appelés pixels. Chaque pixel est repéré par ses coordonnées en x et en y ainsi que par codage ou valeur d'échantillonnage correspondant à la grandeur physique enregistrée. On dit qu'on a affaire à une image bitmap, par opposition à l'image vectorielle décrite sous forme géométrique.

La définition s'exprime par le nombre de points sur la largeur multiplié par le nombre de points sur la longueur (exemple : 2000 x 3000 pixels). La résolution est le nombre de pixels contenus par pouce. Plus il y aura de points par pouce, mieux l'image sera définie.

Chaque pixel qui compose une image numérique est codé, sous forme de nombres, à partir de l'information analogique. Le codage des pixels utilise un système binaire qui s'exprime en bit.
Un bit peut prendre deux positions, 0 ou 1. En l'absence de signal électrique provoqué par la lumière, le bit vaut 0 et le pixel est noir, s'il y a signal électrique, le bit vaut 1 et
le pixel est blanc.

Si l'on code chacune des trois couleurs RVB (rouge, vert, bleu) sur 8 bits/pixel on aura 28x28x28 possibilités soit environ 16,7 millions de nuances de couleurs. On peut imaginer ce que les codages sur 10, 12 voire 16 bits (utilisés en photogravure pour l'édition), pour chacune des trois couleurs, autorisent comme nuances possibles.

Les images numériques peuvent atteindre des poids très élevés dont il faudra tenir compte suivant leur usage.



Haut de page
page 1