The villa of Roye (Somme)
as revealed by aerial photography.
 
Photo taken on the excavation.
Roye (Somme).
Gallo-Roman settlement:
From indigenous farm to villa: The example of Roye (Somme)
A B C D E F G H 
The villa of Roye (Somme) as 
revealed by aerial photography.

Photo taken on the excavation. Roye (Somme).
Evolution of a rural settlement
Two villas were found to the west of the town, between the TGV railway line and the A1 motorway, by the ancient road leading from Amiens to Soissons via Noyon, and close to the line between the cities of the Ambiens and the Viromanduens.

The first and larger villa was discovered by aerial photography (Agache 1970, pl. 151, fig. 482) and was excavated over two hectares by Jean-Luc Collart. There are in existence virtually complete plans of agricultural settlements which developed over nearly five centuries at the same place, in a series of successive enclosures, dating from the end of the Gallic to the Gallo-Roman period at the end of the 4th century AD(Collart, 1996, pp. 172-137, fig. 4 à 6). Only the eastern part was destroyed by the A1 motorway.
 
 

The different phases identified by the excavator may be summarised as follows:

Two late Gallic farms are represented by systems of ditched enclosures. A small curvilinear enclosure of about 1000 m² (phase 1) is inscribed within a sub-rectangular enclosure which may cover about 3800 m².

In the subsequent phase, the space is completely reorganised. A large “oval” enclosure 150 m long by 100 m wide contains a sub-rectangular enclosure of 5600 m² (phase 2). Two entrances in the shape of "micrometer calipers" allowed access to the property. These ditch layouts are very characteristic of the numerous “indigenous farms” seen from the air.

These farms can be compared to the farms of the Pays de Caux, in which the yard is surrounded by a quadrangular ditch surmounted on the inside by an embankment planted with trees. The central enclosure of the preceding farm was enlarged to the east in the first half of the 1st century AD (phase 3). An entrance is marked on the north side by two diagonal ditches.

Gallo-Roman villas are characterised by foundations of buildings, ditches delimiting the enclosures, cellars, silos, fences, pits and postholes. There are few traces of occupation before the middle of the 1st century AD. Buildings with stone foundations are difficult to date, but they would not be earlier than the middle of the 2nd century AD. Among the five structures that have been found, it is possible to identify the residential building, a small balneary, and a building with a cellar (phase 4) .

At the transition of the 2nd to the 3rd centuries, a boundary wall is built, separating the first three buildings of the pars urbana from the rest of the pars rustica of the farm (phase 5).

In the first half of the 3rd century AD, the residential building is more strongly rebuilt, together with the boundary wall with its small entrance and the enclosure ditch.

The subsequent phases of occupation are more difficult to date owing to the leveling of the structures. The entire site is abandoned around 410 AD.

Détection aérienne de
la villa de Roye (Somme).
 
Photo prise lors de la fouille.
Roye (Somme).
L'habitat gallo-romain :
De la ferme indigène à la villa : L'exemple de Roye (Somme)
A B C D E F G H 
Détection aérienne de la villa de Roye (Somme).

Photo prise lors de la fouille. Roye (Somme).
Evolution d'un établissement rural
Deux villas ont été trouvées à l'Ouest de la ville, entre le passage du TGV et de l'autoroute A1, autour de la voie antique qui va d'Amiens à Soissons en passant par Noyon, près de la frontière des cités des Ambiens et des Viromanduens.

La première villa, la plus importante, a été découverte par photographie aérienne (Agache 1970, pl. 151, fig. 482) et a été fouillée sur 2 hectares par Jean-Luc Collart. On dispose de plans presque complets d'établissements agricoles qui se sont développés pendant près de cinq siècles au même endroit, dans des séries d'enclos successifs, datés de la fin de la période gauloise jusqu'à la période gallo-romaine, fin du IVe s. (Collart, 1996, pp. 172-137, fig. 4 à 6). Seule la partie orientale a été détruite par l'autoroute A1.
 
 

Les différents états observés par le fouilleur peuvent être résumés de la façon suivante :

Deux fermes gauloises tardives sont représentées par des systèmes d'enclos fossoyés. Un petit enclos curviligne de 1000 m2 environ (état 1) est inscrit dans un enclos sub-rectangulaire qui pourrait avoir près de 3800 m2.

A la phase suivante, l'espace est complètement remanié. Un grand enclos "ovalaire" de 150 m de longueur et 100 m de largeur entoure un enclos sub-rectangulaire de 5600 m2 (état 2). Deux portes d'entrées en "touches de palmer" permettaient d'accéder à la propriété. Ces tracés de fossés sont bien caractéristiques des nombreuses "fermes indigènes" vues d'avion.

On peut rapprocher ces ensembles des fermes du Pays de Caux où la cour est entourée d'un fossé quadrangulaire surmonté à l'intérieur d'un talus planté d'arbres. Des sépultures ont été trouvées au niveau de l'entrée orientale. L'enclos central de la ferme précédente est agrandi vers l'Est dans la première moitié du Ier s. après J.-C. (état 3). Une entrée est marquée au Nord par deux fossés obliques.

Des villas gallo-romaines sont matérialisées par des fondations de bâtiments, des fossés délimitant des enclos, des caves, des silos, des clôtures, des fosses et des trous de poteaux. Il y a peu de traces d'occupation jusqu'au milieu du 1er s. Les bâtiments à fondation de pierre sont difficiles à dater, mais ils ne seraient pas antérieurs au milieu du IIe s. Parmi les cinq constructions qui ont été relevées, on distingue le bâtiment résidentiel, un petit balnéaire, et un édifice avec cave (état 4).

A la transition du IIe au IIIe siècle, on élève un mur de clôture qui isole les trois premiers bâtiments de la pars urbana du reste de la pars rustica de la ferme (état 5).

Dans la première moitié du IIIe siècle, on reconstruit plus massivement le bâtiment résidentiel, le mur de clôture avec son petit porche d'entrée et le fossé de l'enclos.

Les phases d'occupations suivantes sont plus difficiles à dater en raison de l'arasement des structures. L'ensemble du site est abandonné vers 410 ap. J.-C.